Suchen nach:




Videos: How to use




Safety first






Sicher suchen



Für Webmaster



ARC 2011: Sieg für deutsche Yacht Dantés

Dantés (GER) bei ARC 2011 erfolgreich

ARC2011: Das Team mit dem kleinsten Boot, die Tur-bo (NOR), eine 32-Fuß-Yacht, erreicht die Rodney Bay auf Saint Lucia. (© World Cruising Club, Foto: Clare Pengelly)

Rodney Bay/St. Lucia (SP) Die 26. Atlantic Rally for Cruisers (ARC) 2011 endete mit einer rauschenden Party auf St. Lucia. In diesem Jahr hatten sich die Crews von 217 Yachten auf den 2700 Seemeilen weiten Weg von Gran Canaria nach St. Lucia in der Karibik gemacht. Unter den Gewinnern der Transatlantik-Regatta für Fahrtensegler war auch die deutsche Yacht Dantés, eine Swan 48 S&S: Sie bekam die Yachting World Trophy for line honours Division I (Cruising, kein Motoreinsatz)) sowie die Windward & Leeward Trophy (Class F). Die kleinste Yacht war die TUR-BO, eine Oksö 32 aus Norwegen.

Nicht alle kamen ins Ziel: Zwei Yachten mussten mit Schäden zurück auf die Kanaren, am 8. Dezember verstarb Andrew Nash (Ocean Wanderer) nach Angaben der Organisatoren an einem Herzinfarkt. Das französisch-russische Team war mit ihrer Super-Maxi-Yacht Med Spirit bereits in 11 Tagen and 14 Stunden am Ziel, nur 9 Stunden hinter dem ARC-Rekord, der von Capricorno (ITA) im Jahre 2006 aufgestellt wurde.

English Version:

The 26th ARC finished in fine style on Saturday 17 December with a spectacular prize giving ceremony at the Gaiety Nightclub in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia. 2011 was a vintage ARC, with most boats experiencing fast crossing times - the ARC crossing record almost tumbled after standing unchallenged since 2006.

After a downwind start in perfect conditions in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, the 217 yachts, including a record-breaking 31 multihulls, headed south and then west across the Atlantic towards Rodney Bay, Saint Lucia. Classic trade wind conditions provided exciting downwind sailing, with the Franco-Russian team on super-maxi Med Spirit finishing in 11 days and 14 hours; only 9 hours outside the ARC crossing record set by Capricorno (ITA) in 2006. Following Med Spirit over the line was trimaran Rayon Vert (FRA), Gunboat 66 Phaedo (USA), ex-Whitbread maxi Rothmans (SWE) then Open 40 Vaquita (AUT) - these five boats finishing within 13 days and almost 3 days ahead of the next bunch of finishers.

Most of the fleet experienced a 'wind hole' as they closed Saint Lucia, leaving some boats becalmed and chasing the lightest of breezes or resorting to the motor. Line honours prizes for boats crossing the line first in their division without motoring were awarded to Med Spirit (FRA), Rayon Vert (FRA), Vaquita (AUT), Hassebas (NED) and Dantés (GER). The overall Cruising Division prize for calculated results was awarded to Standfast 56 Splendid (NED) skippered by Kees-Jan Baartmans, and vintage Oyster Lightwave 48 Scarlet Oyster (GBR) skippered by Ross Applebey, won the RORC Racing Division.

Spirit of the ARC

While the fastest finishers are always newsworthy, most of the ARC fleet are family cruisers. The contributions made by a wide range of sailors are recognised during the prize giving, with special awards including the Spirit of the ARC Award. This was awarded to Stuart Letton and the crew of Time Bandit (GBR) for their enthusiasm for ARC activities and involvement in all aspects of the rally. Christof Petter and the crew of Vaquita (AUT) won the Eric Jean Trophy for their work in raising awareness for the Whale and Dolphin Conservation Society.

There were awards for the youngest skipper, 24 year old Lucy Reynolds on Northern Child (GBR) and the oldest skipper, 78 year old Juan Egido from Peru on Nandina. The youngest sailor was 5 year old Aksel Skogseth Berg on Perle (NOR).

The most beautiful yacht was voted to be bright orange Gunboat 66 Phaedo (USA) and the prize for oldest was won by 75 year old Cruinneag III (GBR). The Philip Hitchcock Award for safety was won by Hunny Pot (GBR) for impressing the safety equipment inspectors in Las Palmas.

There were awards for the blogs submitted to the ARC website while the boats were at sea, with 108 boats submitting blogs in 9 different languages; awards for fishing prowess; and prizes for the best wall paintings made in Las Palmas.


Of the 217 boats that set off from Las Palmas de Gran Canaria on 20 November, 215 crossed the Atlantic successfully (two retired to the Canaries) and 214 crossed the finish line in Rodney Bay, Saint Lucia. Damages were limited to blown sails, a few broken booms and two broken forestays, but all of the damaged boats were able to finish. The organisers and participants were deeply saddened to learn on 8 December of the sudden death from suspected heart attack of Andrew Nash, who was sailing on Ocean Wanderer.

ARC 2011 Prizes

Spirit of the ARC Award: Time Bandit (GBR) Stuart Letton & crew

Eric Jean Trophy for services to humanity and environment: Vaquita (AUT) Christof Petter

Arch Jean Trophy for contribution to shoreside activities: Chiscos (GBR) John Simpson & crew

Yachting World Trophy for line honours Division I (Cruising): Dantés (GER) Swan 48

Jimmy Cornell Trophy for overall winner Division I (Cruising): Splendid (NED) Standfast 56

Line honours Division II (Racing) and winner Class A: Vaquita (AUT) Akilaria 40

Overall winner Division II (Racing) and winner Class B: Scarlet Oyster (GBR) Oyster 48

Digicel Trophy for line honours Division VII (Invitation): Hassebas (NED) Shipman 63

Rodney Bay Marina Trophy for winner Division VII (Invitation): Triumph (SWE) Baltic 64

Line Honours Division VIII (Invitation Racing): Med Spirit (FRA) super-maxi

Overall winner Division VIII (Invitation Racing): One Hull (GBR) Challenge 72

Overall winner Division IV (Multihulls): Blue Ocean (POL) Lagoon 560

Line Honours Division V (Open): Rayon Vert (FRA) Lerouge 50 trimaran

Division I (Cruising) Class winners:

Class A - Prime Minister's Trophy: Gunvør XL (CAN) X-55

Class B - Saint Lucia Tourist Board Trophy: Chosen One (GBR) Dufour 45e

Class C - Saint Lucia Hotel & Tourism Trophy: Meneldor (NED) Hallberg Rassy 54

Class D - Saint Lucia Ministry of Tourism Trophy: Capraia III (NOR) Sweden 45

Class E - Gran Canaria Trophy: Splendid (NED) Standfast 56

Class F - Windward & Leeward Trophy: Dantés (GER) Swan 48

Class G - Adlard Coles Trophy: Eagle's Gift (ESP) Swan 42

Class H - Saint Lucia Air & Seaports Authority Trophy: Halcyon of Hebe (GBR) Hylas

Full list of winners online at http://www.worldcruising.com/arc/results.aspx

Auf Facebook teilen

Follow Me on Pinterest

Yachtfernsehen.com auf Google+

(c) by yachtfernsehen.com / Q-Visions Media Andrea Quass